Horton Vortec RDX

Horton Vortec RDX Crossbow Package
click on thumbnail to zoom
  • hello
  • hello
  • hello
Horton Vortec RDX Crossbow Package
click on thumbnail to zoom
  • hello
  • hello
  • hello
Horton Vortec RDX is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 53.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_182, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tenpoint
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
UP TO 350 FPS / 101 FP KE
7.6 LB Weight
$1,149.99
Quantity:
 
Item #: NH17060-5553
Available www.tenpointcrossbows.com

 

Featuring the silent ACUdraw PRO cocking device, the reverse-draw Vortec RDX is perfectly balanced, leading to more accurate off-hand shooting and reduced fatigue while holding steady on a target. Thanks to a super light draw weight, the Vortec RDX is easy to draw and offers a super smooth, vibration-free shot. The Vortec RDX is sold in a ready-to-hunt package that includes an Integrated String Stop System to reduce noise and vibration.

Package Includes:

  • Optics: Horton 4x32 Scope
  • Quiver: 3-Arrow Instant Detech Quiver
  • Cocking Device: ACUdraw PRO
  • Arrows: Three Horton carbon arrows
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Compact Crossbow I bought the Horton Vortec RDX because of the reverse draw. The crossbow works great in climbing stands that face the tree. With the riser being in the middle of the bow it gives more room for the limbs to extend without fear of them hitting the tree or stand when deployed. The Vortec is very accurate with being able to hit a silver dollar at 50 yards and a fear of doing a Robin Hood by shooting twice that could ruin the first arrow. The life time warranty is a great added bonus that shows me the commitment they have to the quality of the Vortec as well as the commitment to the Customer.
Date published: 2018-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the compact design This is my 2nd crossbow and I love it. It's compact design is great for hunting from a treestand. The reverse limbs puts the weight in the center of bow instead of on the front end like traditional crossbows. This allows for a steady hold and better off hand shooting. This is a quality crossbow with a great warranty.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A sweet spot bow - performance, design, and price. I've been deliberating for several seasons the idea to add a compound bow to my deer hunting options. So, when I decided to make a purchase, my priority was to make it the right one. I certainly did just that with the Vortec RDX. For a great price point I get reverse draw width, easy and safe cocking, quality optics, plenty of speed, and indredible accuracy. My new bow hunting range had me expanding shooting lanes at every one of my stands - an amazing bow and superior value. Select this one with confidence.
Date published: 2019-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! I hunt in a ground blind and space is in short supply. This bow’s design is great in tight places! Light in the hand and easy to maneuver! I wouldn’t have been able to make the shot on my 7 point without it.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Crossbow I’ve owned This HORTON VORTEX RDX delivered 340 FPS a PRO ELITE CARBON bolt illuminated with a EVO-X Nock topped with 2 inch RAGE mechanical . Dropped this buck within 75 yards after the bolt passed through.
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the Vortec RDX The bow is great but it’s taken a bit to get used to the reverse draw. Had my previous Horton Legend Team Realtrre 9 years and was really spoiled by its accuracy and dependability. It was more horizontally balanced than the Vortec because of the wider limbs so It doesn’t sit as well on my shooting stick and shooting rail. Maybe if the hand grip was more square it wouldn’t tend to roll to its side while resting on the rail. The accuracy seems good so far. I harvested 2 doe with it in 2018 season. I have high hopes for 2019!
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First crossbow My wife bought me the Vortec RDX for Christmas because of elbow surgery earlier in the year which forced me to shelve my compound bow. Although this is my first crossbow I can’t see how it can get much better than this. After 10 minutes of setting up a target and a couple turns to the left on the scope I was hitting the bull at 30 yards. It’s very comfortable to hold and with my shooting stick under the front I’m shooting 1 inch groups at 40. I couldn’t ask for more for a first crossbow.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Horton reverse limbs! The best I've ever owned!! The ease and balance is wonderful. I was and outfitter and guide in Idaho over 25 years. This is my second Horton reverse limb. I'm very glad tenpoint took over Horton, both great bows. If you're looking for a great Crossbow company, you've found it ! The compacted package is great in the blind or in the field. I love the way the reverse limb always protects the string carrying or in the brush. Picture form the old Horton and new ones to come.. : )) Thanks for such a great product. Sandy Podsaid Idaho
Date published: 2018-08-21
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_182, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tenpoint
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This comes with the Horton bolts, is it recommended to stay with those at 400 grains or move to the pro elite at 442grains? How does that effect the speed, kinetic energy?

Asked by: Jack A
The Vortec RDX will shoot the 400-grain arrow approximately 340 feet-per-second and carries with it 103 foot-pounds of kinetic energy. If shooting the 440-grain Carbon Pro Elite arrow, the speed will be approximately 325 feet-per-second and the arrow will carry 104 foot-pounds.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-20

Since this bow is 135 pound draw weight instead of the more traditional 165 pounds or more will this affect penetration and distance that the bow can shoot? I'm curious because sometimes im presented 50 to 55 yard shots I'm very comfortable at these range

Asked by: Brandon24
There are a few aspects of a crossbow's design that determine how fast the crossbow will shoot. Draw weight and power stroke length are two of these factors. The reason the Vortec RDX has a 135 lb draw weight is that the reverse-draw (RDX) design of this crossbow allows for a longer power stroke. The longer the power stroke, the greater the distance the arrow is accelerated down the flight rail. Therefore, an RDX crossbow can have a lower draw weight but still shoot faster speeds as compared to a forward draw crossbow with the same draw weight. The Vortec RDX will shoot with enough speed and power to harvest a white-tailed deer at 50 yards. In fact, if you make a broadside shot through the killzone, you will likely have a total pass-through.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-20

What is the recommended bolt grain and fixed blade grain weight?

Asked by: Jack A
This crossbow can shoot arrows that are as light as 370-grains total arrow weight (including broadhead). For hunting purposes, we recommend using a heavier arrow that will carry a greater amount of kinetic energy, which means greater penetration power. For hunting, use at least a 400-grain minimum finished arrow weight (including a 100-grain broadhead).
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-17

What is the recommended length of a bolt 20 or 22" ?

Asked by: lowman57
The minimum arrow length required for this crossbow is 20-inches. TenPoint recommends shooting a 20-inch arrow with a minumum overall arrow weight of 370 grains.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-14

Does this meet NY State 17” minimum limb width? Thank you again in advance! Cheers

Asked by: John0311
Unfortunately, the Vortec RDX is not legal archery equipment in the state of New York at this time. However, there are proposed changes to the crossbow laws which, if passed, will allow for the use of this crossbow.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-08-01

Will the Horton Vortex RDX fit well in the EVO X hammerhead hard.case?

Asked by: Nathan S
Yes - the case was designed to hold our reverse-draw crossbow models and wider, older model crossbows.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-13

Is the Vortec legal in New York. I am just entering the sport and receiving mixed messages

Asked by: Walker63
Unfortunately, the Vortec RDX is not legal archery equipment at this time. However, there are proposed changes to the crossbow laws which, if passed, will allow for the use of this crossbow.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-11

Does the accudraw pro come with the crank in this package or do I need to purchase that separately?

Asked by: DonF
The ACUdraw PRO will come with the standard ACUdraw crank handle.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-11

What kind of warranty does it have?

Asked by: Itsie
Please see: https://www.tenpointcrossbows.com/pages/warranty-info/
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-11

Are parts available for this crossbow now and in the foreseeable future?

Asked by: MarkK
Yes, parts are available and will continue to be.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-11

Does the Horton vortec rdx with the pro acudraw come with a crank or is it necessary to buy one separate to be able to shoot bow?

Asked by: uncle frank
The crossbow package comes with the standard ACUdraw crank handle, so you have everything you need in the package to be shooting in minutes after minor assembly. No need to purchase handle separately. If you want the ACUtorq handle, which has a slip-clutch system, you will need to purchase it.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-11

Is the scope on this the multi line scope with red or green lights, or is that an upgrade?

Asked by: Badgerbucks
The Horton 4X32 Multi-Line Scope does not have an illuminated reticle. If you are looking to upgrade to a scope with lights, the TenPoint 3X Pro-View 3 Scope will work well.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-08-06

What is the max distance this crossbow accurately and effectively hit?

Asked by: Hauntinghunted
From an ethical hunting standpoint, 50 yards is the maximum distance that we recommend for you to use this crossbow to harvest an animal.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-06-05

Does it have the new T5 trigger?

Asked by: Ed03
No, the Vortec does not have the T5 trigger in it.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2019-02-19

Can this bow shoot 20” Tenpoint Pro Elite bolts?

Asked by: BlackLab14
Yes, the Vortec will do well with the Pro Elites.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2018-11-12

If I have the bow cocked and I have no opportunity for a shot,  is the only way to uncock it to fire it or is there a way to uncock without shooting the weapon?

Asked by: JJOHNSON618
Yes, you need to shoot it. The best and safest way to unload ANY crossbow is to shoot it.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2018-11-07

Is this bow designed to shoot 20" or 22" arrows? If it's meant for 20" would 22s still work okay?

Asked by: Chris A
All of our current bows are designed for 20 inch arrows. There is no benefit going to a 22 inch arrow. A 22 inch arrow also can put a broaheaded arrow outside of the foot stirrup which can cause other issues.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2018-10-17

What is the draw weight??

Asked by: Skii
The Vortec is about a 135lb draw weight.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2018-08-03

The cheek piece seems a little high for me. I have trouble getting eye centered behind scope. Do you have taller scope mounts or dovetail ?

Asked by: BigA
We don’t have taller mounts, but any gun or sporting goods store will have higher rings. That should solve the issue for you.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2018-01-23

Are there any changes to the Vortec for 2018?

Asked by: EddieB24
There are no changes to the bow, but we did add the Acudraw50 Sled as a cocking option.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2018-01-17

Of what material is the barrel made?

Asked by: SideOfMountainHunter
The Vortec barrel is made of a polymer, the same as the stock, so it is strong and rigid.
Answered by: TenPoint Rep
Date published: 2018-01-15
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_182, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tenpoint
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 121ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Dimensions

Length34.25"
Width - Axle-to-Axle (uncocked/cocked)14.875" / 9"
Power Stroke15.5"
Weight in lbs.(w/o accessories)7.6

Performance

Pro Lite Arrow (370 grain)350 FPS / 101 FP KE
Carbon Arrow (400-grain)340 FPS / 103 FP KE

Related Products